at the intersection of brands, media and culture

Free stuff everyone, it’s a recession!

In Uncategorized on November 2, 2008 at 7:03 am


I’m done buying things. I’m just going to wait around for people to give me stuff. Last week I got a free taco from Taco Bell because some guys stole second base in the World Series. On Tuesday I’m going to go home and get myself a free coffee for voting.

I’m thinking that maybe if I wait around someone will give away a car if we reach 100 degrees in December. It could be the global warming giveaway and we’d all get a Hummer. (Consider it GM, you need something) Maybe Toll Brothers could give away a home for every homerun next season, I think they have enough left over and just think about the new database they would have.

So you just got some free thoughts, I’d love to get some more free stuff.

  1. Evidently it appears that the Starbucks coffee giveaway for voting is illegal …

    Nov. 3 (Bloomberg) — Starbucks Corp., the world’s largest chain of coffee shops, may violate federal election laws if it follows through with a promise to give free coffee tomorrow to those who vote.

    Election officials in the state of Washington told the Seattle-based coffee chain that federal law prohibits payment of money, goods or services in return for voting, said David Ammons, spokesman for the Washington secretary of state.

    Isn’t the sticker you get for voting considered a “good?” That law is stupid.

Leave a Reply

