at the intersection of brands, media and culture

Trending toward Art

In Uncategorized on November 16, 2008 at 8:10 am



I heard the economy is in the crapper. I actually think that is part of the problem, everyone is throwing around words like recession and depression as if it were candy at a small town parade. Even the folks that I know with money are talking about not spending it because the economy is in such bad shape and they feel like they shouldn’t.

It brings me toward public and commercial art which I have noticing as of late. I have to admit, I think it makes me happier than a stimulus check to walk down the street and see light poles turned into Giraffe necks in SF for the zoo or the picture above which is from a collection of crosswalks turned art.

At a time when consumers are clutching to their pocketbooks it seems like the best way in may be stop acting like a mugger in a subway and start wooing them through humor and fun. If people feel better, they spend more.

hat tip: weburbanist

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

